skip navigation

Opening Match and Home Opener Announced

By Hartford Athletic, 03/23/21, 2:00PM EDT

Share

The 2021 schedule is starting to take shape! Hartford Athletic will host Pittsburgh Riverhounds SC in their home opening match at Dillon Stadium on Saturday, May 15th.

"I am so excited to get started. This season is going to be a real test for our whole squad, and every player will play a part in the journey. The work ethic, energy, and buy-in to our staff's plan has been excellent," said Hartford Athletic Head Coach Harry Watling. "We need to start off strong on the road, and we can't wait for our home opener against Pittsburgh in front of #FortressHartford!"

Last season, Hartford edged the Hounds for first place in Group F after a 1-0 victory at Highmark Stadium in Pittsburgh launched Hartford to the top of the table. The match will also mark the return of Hartford's all-time leading scorer, Alex Dixon. Dixon signed with Pittsburgh during the offseason.

Hartford Athletic will open the 2021 campaign on the road against New York Red Bulls II on Friday, April 30th. This will be the first regular season match for new Head Coach Harry Watling. "Opening up at Red Bulls II will be a great test for us and show where we are in our growth as such a new group. It is very exciting," Watling added. 

More details on the 2021 USL Championship season, including the national television schedule on ESPN, the complete regular season schedule, and the postseason structure, will be available in the coming weeks. With the potential for limited capacity attendance at home matches make sure to lock in your ticket package or sign up for wait lists below.

2021 USL Championship Home Openers 

Saturday, April 24
Louisville City FC vs. Atlanta United 2
OKC Energy FC vs. FC Tulsa

Friday, April 30
LA Galaxy II vs. Sacramento Republic FC
New York Red Bulls II vs. Hartford Athletic
Phoenix Rising FC vs. San Diego Loyal SC

Saturday, May 1
Birmingham Legion FC vs. Indy Eleven
FC Tulsa vs. Sporting Kansas City II
Rio Grande Valley FC vs. New Mexico United
San Antonio FC vs. Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC
Tampa Bay Rowdies vs. Charlotte Independence

Sunday, May 2

Miami FC vs. Loudoun United FC

Friday, May 7
Sporting Kansas City II vs. OKC Energy FC

Saturday, May 8
El Paso Locomotive FC vs. New Mexico United
Indy Eleven vs. FC Tulsa

Wednesday, May 12
Sacramento Republic FC vs. Las Vegas Lights FC

Thursday, May 13
Tacoma Defiance vs. San Diego Loyal SC

Friday, May 14
Charleston Battery vs. Charlotte Independence
Real Monarchs SLC vs. LA Galaxy II

Saturday, May 15
Hartford Athletic vs. Pittsburgh Riverhounds SC (Home Opener at Dillon Stadium)
New Mexico United vs. Austin Bold FC

Tuesday, May 18
Loudoun United FC vs. New York Red Bulls II

Wednesday, May 19
Atlanta United 2 vs. FC Tulsa

Friday, May 21
Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC vs. New Mexico United

Saturday, May 22
Orange County SC vs. Sacramento Republic FC

Saturday, May 29
San Diego Loyal SC vs. Las Vegas Lights FC

Sunday, May 30
Austin Bold FC vs. Tacoma Defiance

Saturday, June 5
Charlotte Independence vs. Tampa Bay Rowdies
Las Vegas Lights FC vs. Tacoma Defiance

Sunday, June 6
Pittsburgh Riverhounds SC vs. Austin Bold FC

Wednesday, June 16
Memphis 901 FC vs. Atlanta United 2

Saturday, June 19
Oakland Roots SC vs. Sacramento Republic FC

Latest News