skip navigation

RECAP: Athletic Fall to Indy Despite Strong Performance from Lissek

By Hartford Athletic, 03/30/19, 10:00PM EDT


Indianapolis, IN - Hartford Athletic suffered a 1-0 loss at the hands of Indy Eleven despite a strong performance from Goalkeeper Jacob Lissek

There was plenty of action early on as both teams created chances. As time wore on in the half, Indy controlled possession. Dane Kelly, the all-time leader in goals scored in USL history, was the focal point of the offense getting off three shots, including a bunny in front of the net that soared over the cross bar. 

In the 40th minute, Ayoze Garcia Perez, flying down the left wing, played a ball in to Kelly. Nikolaj Lyngo, trying to knock the ball away, knocked it into the net with his chest for an own goal. Indy took a 1-0 lead into the break.

Just as they did a week ago against Louisville City FC, Hartford Athletic came out of the break firing, but couldn't convert any shots into goals. In the 67th minute, Indy took control. Indy had eight shots in the second half, including three more from Kelly who hit the post twice in the second half. Lissek, who finished with 5 saves, turned away every Indy shot on target. Athletic couldn't find the net in the final minutes, leading to a 1-0 final score in favor of the home side.

Hartford will return to action next Saturday against 2nd place Tampa Bay Rowdies at Al Lang Stadium, 7 PM, on ESPN+.


Shots: 17-7 Indy

Shots on Target: 5-2 Indy

Corner Kicks: 5-3 Hartford

Fouls Committed: 20-18 Hartford

Saves: 5-2 Hartford

Offside: 4-2 Indy

Possession: 57-43 Indy

Passing Accuracy: 77-68 Indy


Nikolaj Lyngo (OG) 40'


IND - Ayoze (Yellow) 58', Tyler Gibson (Yellow) 63', Nico Matern (Yellow) 69'


Evan Newton; Patrick Barrett, Alex Crognale, Neveal Hackshaw; Macauley King, Tyler Gibson, Nico Matern (Tyler Pasher 76'), Ayoze; Eugene Starikov (Matthew Watson 71'), Thomas Enevoldsen, Dane Kelly (Alioune Diakhate 90').


Jacob Lissek; Kyle Curinga (Giuseppe Gentile 66'), Sem de Wit, Nikolaj Lyngo, Raymond Lee; Philip Rasmussen (c), Jonathan Brown, Mads Jorgensen (Wojciech Wójcik 75'), Ryan Williams, Sebastian Dalgaard (Mac Steeves 82'), Jose Angulo.

Latest News